Some of the Outtakes

My initial drafts of What Are Days For? were much longer than the final published book. I wanted to keep the content crisp and focused.

It meant that a lot of good material ended up on the writer’s equivalent of the cutting-room floor, but the fortunate thing is that unlike, for example, documentaries, where a mass of good quality footage will simply never see the light of day because it was never used in the final cut, with the edits from the printed word they can still be easily discovered for later use.

In this blog, I will occasionally tap into the resource of the text that I have edited out. Importantly the text didn’t appear not for quality reasons but simply because it didn’t fit into my vision for What Are Days For?

For example, these two quotes:

Alan Lakein: “Planning is bringing the future into the present so you can do something about it now.”

Morihei Ueshiba: “I do not think badly of others when they treat me unkindly. Rather, I feel gratitude towards them for giving me the opportunity to train myself to handle adversity. “

I think they both have merit and they also fit into one of my pet themes, that of – even if you don’t agree with it, you get something from considering it.

I feel sympathy, for example, with Ueshiba’s quote, but I also feel it’s stated as if you can turn that sort of gratitude on like a tap. I know many of us would struggle with that. Nevertheless, if the thought behind the quote can work its way into me through a steady osmosis then that would be great. By contemplating texts such as these, it makes it more likely that their sentiments will pervade my everyday life.

Leave a Reply

